Family – Part 1

Family

The pictures that you see on top are of four of my seven nieces and nephews. Obviously they do not look like me, so when I say they are my family I get weird looks, but I love them anyways. I think that picture will help you to better understand what I am trying to say.
Over the last 9 years of my life I have been reevaluating the definition of family. Family is defined as a term used denote a domestic group of people, or a number of domestic groups linked through descent (demonstrated or stipulated) from a common ancestor, marriage or adoption. Basically, family in our culture is defined by those who surround you and more closely tied to you by blood. Through my family I have always been taught that “blood is thicker than water” which is to say that those who are your closest kin are those you should always keep the closest. When I went to K-State (the greatest school on earth) that notion was challenged as I abandoned my “family” for one that turned out to be very superficial. Three years ago became married and this notion has been challenged again as I struggle to create a new legacy based off of a mutual input of two families, not just one. Each time I have put myself through a separation that made me refocus on my personal definition of family so that I could properly serve those closest to me. Jesus, in Luke 14:26, makes a statement of those that are to follow Him. I think He realizes that those who follow Him are a motley crew of families, individuals, ect. Christ knows that we are trying to figure out the practical implications of following Him, while inadvertently creating a family unit themselves and he returns with a outrageous declaration:
“If anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple.”
Yeah you read that right Jesus said you must essentially “hate” your family. No seriously go read it. What in the world does that mean? Well I believe that Christ meant this as a comparison and directly afterwards He gives a plethora of examples. In other words Christ is saying if you do not love me so much that you love for others is then called in question in comparison to me then you cannot follow me. What does that mean when we look at our own blood? Also it is extremely hard, if not impossible to look at a Husband and not eventually speak of His wife. Christ calls us, the church, His bride and He is the groom. Is the church called to be a family that represents our new bond in Christ? Does this one supercede the blood bond I have with my “father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters”? These are questions that you and I have to deal with as we follow Christ in our lives. This question will drive how we respond to His bride (the church), your new brothers and sisters (in Christ), and even those outside the faith. Take some time to think about it.
Selah (marinate)
[I was listing to Jill Scott – The Real Thing (Words and Sounds volume 3) and Alicia Keys – “As I Am” while writing this entry]

~ by westsidecollegeministry on December 28, 2007.

4 Responses to “Family – Part 1”

  1. Beautiful family and Jesus is your new family member enjoy the new family relationship.

  2. […] – Part 2 I wanted to continue this discussion about family (Click here for Part 1), last time I wrote about the term “Family” and it’s implications for us now I want to […]

  3. […] the Title “Family Part 3″ comes from, click on the post to check out the other two post Family – Part 1 and Family – Part […]

  4. […] for a father that fulfills my deepest self. I have been struggling with this concept lately (see Family Pt. 1, 2, 3) but I realized something, Dad is not nor never wanted to be a replacement for God the […]

Leave a comment