Where Were You On 9/11?

Photo

                I was living in Manhattan, KS (the best city in Kansas) at the time and was late on my rent.  I had received my paycheck the day before from working the night shift at a local technology firm, so when I came home I jumped in my roommates car to go to the local Hy-Vee, cash the check, get a money order and other needed items for a bachelor.  My roommate loved hard rock and as I turned it on my ears were blasted out so I quickly turned the station to a local AM station.  Funny enough my mom had just introduced to talk radio because a person she was listing to she thought was a little out there but as I began to listen I became hooked. Right before I arrived at the store the report came over the radio “a small plane or something is reported to have hit the WTC towers causing a fire….”  I jumped out, went inside, picked up the items I needed and on the way out I casually asked check out person if they had heard the news and they said that they heard something but it didn’t really matter to them.  I jumped back into the car and listened intently to the news and the confusion of why the tower was burning.  As I returned to my complex the radio just started to spit out the news of a possible attack.  I ran up to our unit and quickly turned on the T.V., as I found a station that was covering the event just in time to witness the 2nd plane barrel into the second tower.  I immediately screamed (yes, screamed) at my roommates 9who were dead asleep) to join me in our living room.  My mind racing I didn’t know what to do or where to go but remember feeling physically sick about the potential loss of life.  I called my ex-girlfriend to check on her dad worked in that WTC complex, I wasn’t able to get through and to this day I do not know why.  I remember having some extremely deep discussions and disagreements about my role as a citizen and our reaction as a nation after 9/11.  I also will never forget the solidarity that resulted everywhere that I went for the next couple of months. 

Truly, there is so much more detail that I could not include, you would be here forever, but I ‘m curious with today being the seventh anniversary of these events, and constant news coverage and documentaries going on, my memories of where I was and my initial thoughts have come flooding back to me.

Can you remember where you were when you first heard about these events? What were your initial thoughts and reactions?

~ by westsidecollegeministry on September 11, 2008.

One Response to “Where Were You On 9/11?”

  1. i was a sophomore in high school — home sick with the flu. i was awake and turning on the TODAY show when i saw the 2nd tower being hit live on television. i will never forget thinking, “is this a movie” and realizing it was all real. it was the single scariest day of my life that i can remember clearly.

Leave a Reply

 
